Chief and Council

The Nigigoonsiminikaaning First Nation is comprised of (1) Chief & (3) Councillors.

Terry Allan


Garry Windigo


Ernie Morrison Sr.


Sue Boshey



By special consideration of the Chief and Council of the Nigigoonsiminikaaning First Nation: and on behalf of the ownership, the people of Nigigoonsiminikaaning First Nation as the embodiment of the collective, do hereby introduce this document as the guide for Leadership and Governance for and by the people of the Anishinaabe Nation.

Through the visions of our elders and the hope of our children we will move toward the path of the Anishinaabe Way. This is not to mean that we will abandon the modern ways. These are things that must work with, in our own time and to the benefit of the people. We are the chosen ones of the people who have been entrusted to guild with careful thought, to bring dignity and integrity to the forefront and achieve the visions of our most honored elders.

We cannot achieve these things by ourselves. It is we as a collective that will achieve. Your leadership is only the instrument of that achievement. Individuals must look to making personal decisions based on the values and benefit of the people. That is what we will ensure. Your leadership will promote those values to others of this land to help them to understand who we are, what we are and where we are heading. We will employ assistance only from those who would empower us: not make us followers or slaves to their ways or services.

Along the way we will seek to forge partnerships, encourage our allies and make many friends and supports of our Nation. We help them to see what we see and strive for now, and in the future.


The Nigigoonsiminikaaning First Nation is comprised of (1) Chief & (3) Councillors. Here is a list of the Governance structure. The membership authority is Section II of Indian Act with an Indian Act Electoral System. Chief and Council quorum is 2 of 3 members.

2018-2022 Chief & Council

ChiefWill Windigo2018 – July
CouncillorGarry Windigo2018 – July
CouncillorClayton Windigo2018 – July
CouncillorSue Boshey2018 – July